BLAKE ISLAND STATE PARK
Blake Island State Park is a 475-acre marine camping park with five miles of saltwater beach shoreline providing magnificent views of the Olympic Mountains and the Seattle skyline. The park is only reachable by tour boat or private boat. Indian-style salmon dinners and demonstrations of Northwest Indian dancing are offered at Tillicum Village, a concession on the island. Blake Island offers a unique Northwest Indian dining and cultural experience at Tillicum Village. Visitors can enjoy a barbecued salmon dinner cooked in traditional Native American style while watching Northwest Indian dancing. A highlight of the park is its five-mile beach shoreline, which provides views of mountains, volcanoes and the Seattle skyline.
Summer: 6:30 a.m. to dusk.Winter: 8 a.m. to dusk.
The park is open year round for camping and day use. There is a seven day overnight moorage limit.
Camping:Check-in time, 1 p.m.Check-out time, 1 p.m.Quiet hours: 10 p.m. to 6:30 a.m.
The park is located on an island with five miles of saltwater beach shoreline. The tidelands and bedlands make an underwater park.
Blake Island was an ancestral camping ground of the Suquamish Indian tribe, and legend has it Chief Seattle was born there. It is believed the island was named by naval explorer Captain Charles Wilkes in honor of George Smith Blake, who commanded U.S. Coast Survey vessels from 1837 to 1848.
William Pitt Trimble acquired the island at the turn of the century and re-named it Trimble Island, transforming it into a magnificent private estate. After his wife was killed in Seattle in 1929, Trimble never returned to the property. The foundation of his mansion still stands, although the home itself has been destroyed by fire .
The property became Blake Island State Park in October, 1974.
The camp has 44 tent spaces, four primitive sites, one dump station, four restrooms (one ADA) and one shower area.
Cascadia Marine Trail sites are located on the west end of the island. These sites are for use by canoers and kayakers only. Primitive sites are available on the south side.
All campsites are first-come, first-served.
A group camp is available by reservation for groups of less than 250 people. Fees vary with size of the group.
A snack bar is provided by Tillicum Village during summer months only. T-shirts and some camping supplies are available at the park.
The park offers 1,500 feet of moorage dock and 24 mooring buoys. Electrical service is available at the docks for a fee. A boat pumpout also is available.
Moorage fees are charged year round for mooring at docks, floats and buoys from 1 p.m. to 8 a.m. Daily and annual permits are available. For more information, call (360) 902-8844.