TURKEY RUN STATE PARK
TURKEY RUN STATE PARK
8121 East Park Rd.
Marshall, Indiana 47859
Toll Free: 800-457-8283
You'll marvel at the natural geologic wonders of this beautiful park as you hike along its famous trails. Nestled along State Road 47 southwest of Crawfordsville, you'll want to explore the deep, sandstone ravines and walk along the stands of aged forests, and enjoy the scenic views along Sugar Creek.
Visit the Colonel Richard Lieber Cabin which commemorates the contributions of the father of Indiana's state park system.
In terms of history, the geology of Turkey Run offers a unique view into the past. A walk into one of the ravines takes the visitor on a trip through time when the sandstone gorges represent 600 to 300 million years of nature's handwork.
Mansfield sandstone, named after Mansfield, Indiana, is the main material which forms Turkey Run's cliffs. Many years ago, flowing water deposited sand, then pressure and cementation changed the grains of sand into sedimentary rock. Later, wind and water began to cut the sandstone after it was exposed to the air, but it was the ice age and glacial action that shaped the sandstone into familiar forms.
Glacial ice did at one time cover the north portion of the park. As the glacier melted, the debris collected by the moving ice was deposited. Stones of many shapes and sizes were ground against the softer sandstone by the rushing melt-water. This grinding action helped carve the Sugar Creek stream bed as well as many of the canyons of Turkey Run. Remnants of these hard round stones, called glacial till, may be found in the stream beds today.
In the last few hundred years, the erosion of the sandstone has continued at a slower pace. The gorges are very similar to what was seen by Native Americans and pioneers.
The Miami Indians walked many of the trails that today's park visitors still use. The last Native American, Johnny Green, is said to have died while fishing from Goose Rock. The early pioneers have left traces of their heritage. The historical Lusk Home and Mill site are reminders of early enterprise and ambition. Acquiring the land in 1825, Captain Lusk built a grist mill that was completed in 1829. The Lusk's stewardship of the land preserved the pristine nature of the land. Also, the log cabin museum, located on Sunset Point, was built in 1848. It was moved to Turkey Run in 1918, and the large tulip logs serve as a reminder of the large tulip tree forests that supplied builders of early America.
The log church across the concrete bridge near the Inn was originally constructed in 1923. It stands as a reminder of the religious heritage left by our forefathers. Non-denominational services are still conducted through the warmer months every Sunday at 10:00A.M.
Electric Sites, #213
Youth Group Campyes
Outdoor Swimming Poolyes
* Electric / 213 sites * Youth Tent Areas * Camp Store * Dumping Station
Turkey Run Inn was built in 1919. Over the years, it has undergone changes, additions, and modifications. It has been decades since the excursion trains from Chicago delivered adventuresome travellers for a holiday at the Turkey Run Inn...but the allure of this beautiful facility continues as strong as ever.
Today, Turkey Run Inn provides the comfort of a modern facility with the ambiance of a rustic country inn. Sixty-one rooms in our main lodge, twenty-one sleeping cabins and a full-service dining room provide ample space for meetings, conventions, parties, and other group events.
In addition, event planners will find more than 5,500 sq. feet of versatile meeting space which includes a large conference area which is ideal for receptions, banquets, trade shows, and conferences.
Turkey Run State Park's location in the West Central part of Indiana makes it an idea location for statewide gatherings.