BRIDGEPORT STATE PARK
Bridgeport State Park is a 748-acre camping park with 7,500 feet of freshwater shoreline on Rufus Woods Lake. Set directly behind Chief Joseph Dam, this lake is actually a segment of the Columbia River. The park provides 18 acres of lawn and some shade in the midst of a desert terrain. "Haystacks," unusual volcanic formations resembling their name, are the park's most striking feature. Located behind Chief Joseph Dam, Bridgeport State Park provides lake, lawn and shade in the midst of a desert terrain. "Haystacks," unusual large volcanic formations, are the park's most unique feature. Interpretative programs are offered seasonally on many topics.
WildlifeMammals Birds Fish & Sea Life? Bears? Bobcats? Coyotes? Deer or Elk? Marmots? Muskrats? Rabbits ? Chukars? Crows or Ravens? Doves or Pigeons? Ducks? Eagles? Geese? Gulls? Hawks? Hummingbirds? Jays? Ospreys? Owls? Pheasants? Quail? Swans? Woodpeckers? Wrens ? Perch? Trout? Walleye
Environmental FeaturesPhysical Features Plant Life The park has some unique volcanic formations called "haystacks." These basalt structures look like huge haystacks from a distance. ? Ponderosa Pine? Spruce? Ash? Birch? Maple? Oak? Poplar? Daisy? Lupines? Paintbrush? Rose? Poison Ivy
A park plaque honors Mr. Ralph Van Slyke who, with the most common garden tools, cut a park in the valley above Chief Joseph Dam in the early 1960s. Van Slyke was a retired employee of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.
The park was named for the town of Bridgeport, which from 1881 to 1889 was known as Westfield. In 1889, Mr. J. Covert, a citizen of Bridgeport, Connecticut, came west to survey a railroad route and renamed Westfield after his hometown.
The park was created as part of a cooperative agreement between Washington State Parks and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. The Corps is involved in park-building because of an operating agreement for dams which requires the corps to rebuild recreation areas.
The park provides 14 tent spaces, 20 utility spaces, one dump station, two restrooms (both ADA) and two showers. Maximum site length is 45 feet (may have limited availability). Since the park is heavily used, mid-week is the recommended time to locate a vacant campsite. The campground is situated on a lawn with many shade trees. Most facilities are modern. All campsites are first-come, first-served.
The park offers a group camp that accommodates 20 to 72 people. Fees vary with size of the group.
Summer: 6:30 a.m. to 10 p.m.Winter: Closed Oct. 27, reopens March 20.
Camping:Check-in time, 2:30 p.m.Check-out time, 1 p.m.Quiet hours: 10 p.m. to 6:30 a.m.
Watercraft launch reopens Feb. 20.
The park provides two boat ramps and 240 feet of dock.
A daily watercraft launching permit and a trailer dumping permit is available at the park..Annual permits also may be purchased at State Parks Headquarters in Olympia, at region offices, online, and at parks when staff is available.
Fishing is open year round. The trout fishing is starting to pick up, depending on wind conditions.