QUODDY HEAD STATE PARK
Quoddy Head State Park is located four miles off Maine Route 189 in Lubec on the easternmost point of land in the United States. On its 532 acres, purchased by the state in 1962, the park features 4.5 miles of hiking trails, extensive forests, two bogs, diverse habitat for rare plants, and the striking, red-and-white striped lighthouse tower of West Quoddy Head Light. With its diverse landscape, breathtaking views, scenic picnic sites, and opportunities for hiking and whale watching, Quoddy Head State Park is a fun and fascinating destination for visitors to down east Maine.
In 1808, West Quoddy Head Light became the easternmost lighthouse in the United States. Its light and fog cannon warned mariners of Quoddy's dangerous cliffs, ledges, and Sail Rock. Among the first to use a fog bell and later a steam-powered foghorn, this lighthouse greatly reduced shipwrecks in this foggy area, even as shipping increased. In 1858, the present red-and-white tower replaced the original. Monitored and serviced by the U. S. Coast Guard, its light still shines through its original third-order Fresnel lens. After automation in 1988, the light station became part of adjacent Quoddy Head State Park. The tower is closed, but visitors are welcome to enjoy the lighthouse grounds and explore the Visitor Center and Museum run by the West Quoddy Head Light Keepers' Association.