MANCHESTER STATE PARK
MANCHESTER STATE PARK
7767 E. Hilldale
Port Orchard, Washington 98366
Manchester State Park
these photos were taken by Jennifer L VanCleave-Russell and not to be copied or duplicated. Taken May 2011
Manchester State Park is a 111-acre camping park with 3,400 feet of saltwater shoreline on Rich Passage in Puget Sound. The park is covered in woods of fir and maple. Nestled in woods of fir and maple, the park sets on the shore of Rich Passage on Puget Sound. Bainbridge Island and Seattle are visible from the beach. The park also features Calvinwood Lodge, a picturesque lodge perfect for weddings, reunions and group meetings. The lodge is 13 miles south of Manchester State Park and is set in a secluded forest with several small lakes and wetlands nearby.
Summer: 8 a.m. to dusk.Winter: 8 a.m. to dusk.
The park is open year round for camping and day use.
Camping:Check-in time, 2:30 p.m.Check-out time, 1 p.m.Quiet hours: 10 p.m. to 6:30 a.m.
Wildlife Mammals Birds Fish & Sea Life . Bears. Chipmunks. Coyotes. Deer or Elk. Foxes. Otters. Raccoons. Skunks. Squirrels. Weasels. Chukars. Doves or Pigeons. Ducks. Eagles. Geese. Gulls. Hawks. Herons. Hummingbirds. Jays. Ospreys. Owls. Pheasants. Woodpeckers. Wrens. Clams. Crabs. Mussels. Sea Birds. Seals. Shellfish. Starfish. Whales. Salmon
Environmental Features Physical Features Plant Life . Cedar. Douglas Fir. Hemlock. Nobel Fir. Alder. Ash. Maple. Daisy. Foxglove. Lupines. Rhododendron. Rose. Berries. Ferns. Moss or Lichens. Seaweed. Thistle. Poison Oak
The park was named for the nearby small town of Manchester. Originally called "Brooklyn," the citizens renamed the place "Manchester" in 1892 on account of their expectation that Manchester, Washington would become an active seaport comparable to Manchester, England.
The park itself was constructed at the turn of the century as a U.S. Coast Artillery harbor defense installation for the protection of Bremerton. During World War II, the property was converted to a navy fuel supply depot and a navy fire-fighting station.
A former torpedo warehouse, built in 1901, still stands in the park. It was later an officer's club, a barracks and a mess hall, and is now a picnic shelter in the day-use area. The small concrete building east of the torpedo warehouse was originally used as a mining casement, and later for coal storage. A gun battery also remains from the park's early days. All three of these structures are on the register of National Historical Monuments.
The park has 35 tent spaces, 15 utility spaces and two restrooms/showers. Maximum site length is 60 feet (may have limited availability). One dump station is located near the entrance.
Reservations for campsites can be made by calling (888) CAMPOUT or (888) 226-7688. During the off-season (September 16 thorugh May 14), campsites are only available first-come, first-served.
There are three hiker/biker campsites available only to hikers and bikers and only on a first-come, first-served basis. Unlike other tent spaces, these sites do not provide a picnic table or brazier.
Group Accommodations: One group camp is available which will accommodate 20 to 130 people. It includes a large fire circle, 12 RV hookups, plus a covered shelter with eight picnic tables and electricity. Several unsheltered picnic tables and braziers are also in the camp. There are two unisex restrooms/showers (ADA accessible). Fees vary with size of the group. To reserve, call (888) CAMPOUT or (888) 226-7688, or call the park for further details at (360) 871-4065.
Check-in time is 2:30 p.m., and check-out time is 1 p.m.Quiet hours are from 10 p.m. to 6:30 a.m.Engine-driven electric generators may be operated only between the hours of 8 a.m. and 9 p.m.Length of stay: You may stay up to ten consecutive days in any one park during the summer; the stay limit is extended to 20 days between Oct. 1 and March 31.
Kayaks or small watercraft may be carried to the beach area for launching.