LACEY-KEOSAUQUA STATE PARK
Lacey-Keosauqua State Park is one of the largest and most picturesque of Iowa state parks and recreation areas. The park's 1,653 acres of hills, bluffs and valleys wind along the Des Moines River in Van Buren County.
During the middle of the 19th century, the great Mormon trek westward across Iowa occurred. Ely Ford, now the site of a beautiful picnic area, was a river crossing point. It is now a component of the Mormon Pioneer Trail.
Originally, the park was named "Big Bend," but when it was dedicated in 1921, a more colorful name was sought. For the next five years, it was called Keosauqua, a Native American term meaning "the stream bearing a floating mass of snow, slush, or ice." In 1926, the name was changed to Lacey-Keosauqua in honor of Major John Fletcher Lacey who fought in the Civil War, was elected to Iowa House of Representatives in 1868, and by 1888, was a member of Congress. Major Lacey campaigned for conservation legislation long before Teddy Roosevelt and was instrumental in the establishment of a state park system in Iowa.
Full Hookup Sitesyes
Lacey-Keosauqua's beautiful, shaded campground features 113 campsites (45 with electrical hook-ups), modern rest rooms, shower facilities, and a trailer dump station. Starting February 13, 2006 advance campsite reservations can be booked through the park reservation system. Half of the campsites are still available for self-registration on a first-come, first-serve basis.
A lodge may also be reserved through the park manager. The lodge is an excellent place for group events such as wedding receptions and family reunions.
Lacey-Keosauqua State Park offers 6 family cabins. The cabins can be reserved for a fee through the Internet at www.reserveiaparks.com or by calling toll-free 1-877-IAPARKS. For more background information on the the park reservation system click here. Cabins provide all of the comforts of home while bringing visitors a great outdoor experience. All cabins include modern facilities.